¡¡Welcome£ºAbout SINA > Board of Directors
Charles Chao¡¡¡¡Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board

Charles Chao has served as our Chairman of the Board since August 2012 and our Chief Executive Officer since May 2006. He served as our President from September 2005 to February 2013, Chief Financial Officer from February 2001 to May 2006, Co-Chief Operating Officer from July 2004 to September 2005, and Executive Vice President from April 2002 to June 2003. From September 1999 to January 2001, Mr. Chao served as our Vice President, Finance. Prior to joining us, Mr. Chao served as an audit manager at PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP, an accounting firm. Prior to that, Mr. Chao was a news correspondent at Shanghai Media Group. Mr. Chao is currently the Chairman of Weibo Corporation, a leading social media company, a director of NetDragon Websoft Inc., a company providing technology for online gaming and a director of Leju Holdings Ltd., an online-to-offline (O2O) real estate services provider in China. Mr. Chao holds a Master of Professional Accounting degree from University of Texas at Austin, an M.A. in Journalism from University of Oklahoma and a B.A. in Journalism from Fudan University in Shanghai, China.

Yan Wang¡¡¡¡Independent Director

Yan Wang has served as a director since May 2003. Mr. Wang served as our Vice Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the Board from May 2006 to August 2012. Previously, he served as our Chief Executive Officer from May 2003 to May 2006, our President from June 2001 to May 2003, our General Manager of China Operations from September 1999 to May 2001 and as our Executive Deputy General Manager for Production and Business Development in China from April 1999 to August 1999. In April 1996, Mr. Wang founded the division of Beijing Stone Rich Sight Limited (currently known as Beijing SINA Information Technology Co., Ltd.), one of our subsidiaries. From April 1996 to April 1999, Mr. Wang served as the head of our SRS Internet Group. Mr. Wang holds a B.A. in Law from the University of Paris.

Ter Fung Tsao¡¡¡¡Independent Director

Ter Fung Tsao has served as a director since March 1999. Mr. Tsao has served as Chairman of Standard Foods Corporation (formerly known as Standard Foods Taiwan Ltd.), a packaged food company, since 1986. Before joining Standard Foods Taiwan Ltd., Mr. Tsao worked in several positions within The Quaker Oats Company, a packaged food company, in the United States and Taiwan. Mr. Tsao received a B.S. in Civil Engineering from Cheng Kung University in Taiwan, an M.S. in Sanitary Engineering from Colorado State University, and a Ph.D. in Food and Chemical Engineering from Colorado State University.

Song-Yi Zhang¡¡¡¡Independent Director

Song-Yi Zhang has served as a director since April 2004. Mr. Zhang currently serves as the Chairman of Mandra Capital. From November 1997 to November 2000, Mr. Zhang was a Managing Director of Morgan Stanley and served separately as a Managing Director in its Asia Mergers, Acquisitions, Restructuring and Divestiture Group and Co-head of its Asia Utilities/ Infrastructure Group. Mr. Zhang is currently a director of China Renewable Energy Investment Limited, an alternative energy and software development company, and China Longyuan Power Group Corporation Limited, a wind power generation company. Mr. Zhang holds a J.D. degree from Yale Law School.

Yichen Zhang¡¡¡¡Independent Director

Yichen Zhang has served as a director since May 2002 and as a director of Weibo from January 2014 to December 2015. Since 2003, Mr. Zhang has been the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of CITIC Capital Holdings Limited (¡°CCHL,¡± formerly known as CITIC Capital Markets Holdings Ltd.), a China-focused investment management and advisory firm. Prior to founding CITIC Capital, Mr. Zhang was an Executive Director of CITIC Pacific and President of CITIC Pacific Communications. He was previously a Managing Director at Merrill Lynch responsible for Debt Capital Market activities for the Greater China region. Mr. Zhang began his career at Greenwich Capital Markets in 1987 and became Bank of Tokyo¡¯s Head of Proprietary Trading in New York in the early 1990s. Mr. Zhang returned to China in the mid-1990s and advised the Chinese Ministry of Finance and other Chinese agencies on the development of the domestic government bond market. He is also a member of the Eleventh and Twelfth National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC). Mr. Zhang is a graduate of Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Jianzhang Liang¡¡¡¡Independent Director

James Jianzhang Liang has served as a director since Dec 2017. Mr. Liang is one of the co-founders and executive chairman of International, Ltd. (¡°Ctrip¡±) (Nasdaq: CTRP). Mr. Liang has served as a member of Ctrip¡¯s board of directors since its inception and has been the chairman of Ctrip¡¯s board since August 2003. Mr. Liang served as Ctrip¡¯s Chief Executive Officer from 2000 to January 2006, and from March 2013 to November 2016. Under his visionary leadership, Ctrip has successfully transitioned from offline to online and from online to mobile, made strategic investments in key industry players, and cultivated and invested in new business ideas. Ctrip is now one of the world¡¯s largest online travel agencies. Mr. Liang has won many accolades for his contributions to the Chinese travel industry, including Best CEO in the Internet category in the 2016 All-Asia Executive Team Rankings by Institutional Investor and 2015 China¡¯s Business Leader of the Year by Forbes. Prior to founding Ctrip, Mr. Liang held a number of technical and managerial positions with Oracle Corporation from 1991 to 1999 in the United States and China, including the head of the ERP consulting division of Oracle China from 1997 to 1999. Mr. Liang currently serves on the boards of Tuniu (NASDAQ: TOUR), eHi (NASDAQ: EHIC) and MakeMyTrip (NASDAQ; MMYT). Mr. Liang received his Ph.D. degree from Stanford University and his Master¡¯s and Bachelor¡¯s degrees from Georgia Institute of Technology. He also attended an undergraduate program at Fudan University.

Copyright 1996-2012 All Rights Reserved